Planets

As a person with a logical, scientific bent (a degree in engineering, schooled in scientific method and just being an all over analytical type) I know that there is no reason to believe that the the motions of the planets and their alignment with the stars can reliably predict events – the whole astrological schtick, you know?

So, the last week and on into this one has been part of a “Mercury retrograde” period where the motion of said innermost planet of our solar system appears, from the vantage point of observers on the Earth, to be in the opposite direction to its normal orbital motion; in astrological terms this signals a time of upheaval, difficult communications and technology going wonky.

And my logical left-brain says “hogwash, there’s no reason that a visible peculiarity of planetary orbital mechanics can produce widespread effects at such astronomical (pun intended) distances.”

But despite holding that belief, it’s been a week of truly disproportionate wonkiness, especially with various bits of technology in my life but certainly not limited to that.  In the words William Shakespeare put into Hamlet’s mouth:

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio,
Than are dreamt of in your philosophy.

I am eagerly looking forward to Mercury going direct again.  Er, not that I believe it could possibly have any effect.  Really.  But what could it hurt?🙂

And before I forget, this post is part of the A-Z Blogging Challenge – with today’s letter being “P”.  Of course, if I had forgotten to mention it, Mercury retrograde would have had nothing to do with it… right?

5 Responses to Planets

  1. Mark says:

    I know that this whole astrology stuff is bunk, but I’m sure that wearing my Lucky Hamster Underpants will help the Canucks win the Stanley Cup.🙂

    • Rob says:

      Um, if what I heard on the news today was correct, you’ll be wearing them until at least next year…🙂

  2. I’m not so sure the hamster feels lucky but whatever works…

    Keep a positive attitude towards these things, Rob, and remember coincidence is a much more powerful force than any influence from a distant planet.

    xxoo
    moe

    • Rob says:

      There’s coincidence, and then there’s way too much coincidence… but I still have a positive attitude.

      Thanks for dropping by, Moe – I glanced at your Pere Lachaise post but will have to give it a longer read when I get back home on Thursday (quick trip, won’t have any internet).

  3. Nate Wilson says:

    Although I believe in the craziness of the full moon, I’m with you that the rest of astrology is bunk. I mean, the regular horoscope says I’m a lion, the Chinese horoscope says I’m a horse, the British horrorscope has me as a werewolf, and the Korean fluoroscope says I’m a pig and need to cut back on my fat intake. They can’t all be right.

Leave a Reply

