Hopemongering

I was struggling to find a suitable topic around the letter H for today’s A-Z Blogging Challenge post. Discarded words littered (figuratively) the floor as they were tried and rejected one by one: hairlessness (a topic with which I have some acquaintance – though it’s not something I find bothersome, and which I don’t obsess over like some men do), horrorscope [sic] ( this was to be a play on horoscope – my dear wife, K, follows a woman astrologer on Twitter who has been predicting spectacular things for Cancerians, like me, on the career front; my job search has recently had some very positive happenings, though things are currently reaching a “May you live in interesting times” kind of situation and rather than tempt fate I elected to not say more… for the moment) and help (including variants like helpful; exemplified by the helpful suggestions received from my friends when I tweeted and facebooked about my dilemma), among others.

Nothing was coming to me – zip, zilch, ñada, rien du tout.

Then in my Twitter timeline, I came across a tweet referencing an OpEd piece titled Vote for anyone else at your peril, Canada in Maclean’s Magazine by Scott Feschuk.  Now, at the time of my writing this post, Canada is in the midst of a federal election – the first one where social media channels like Twitter, Facebook, blogs and online content from the MSM are playing a significant role in engaging the voters (at least that’s what I’m hoping – we can’t afford to have Yet Another Abysmal Voter Turnout for this election).

One of the defining characteristics of the campaign being waged by Stephen Harper, leader of the Conservative Party of Canada (CPC) is its extreme use of fearmongering: first and foremost over the formation of a governing coalition by the Liberal Party, the NDP and the Bloc Québécois in the event that the CPC does not gain a majority of the seats in the House of Commons. This, Stephen Harper says (untruthfully) is undemocratic, illegal and dangerous. It’s none of those – witness the Conservative/Liberal Democrat coalition government currently in power in the UK.

Feschuk, in his wickedly satirical article, points out Harper’s many self-contradictory pronouncements uttered in service of painting him as the only hope Canadians have of “a secure, stable, prosperous country”. And he closes this brilliant piece with the word of the day:

Don’t you see, people—we’ve been wrong about him. The vicious attack ads. The vitriol in question period. The alarming forecasts of what will happen to our country if we even think of taking his hands off the levers of power. All along he’s been hopemongering.

Hopemongering… that just made my day: thank you Scott Feschuk.

4 Responses to Hopemongering

  1. From the moment Stephen Harper closed his first speech to the nation with “God Bless Canada” the writing was on the wall in regard to his adopting more of the tactics of our friends to the south.
    He may no longer invoke God, it was probably pointed out to him that the ‘optics’ in Canada of espousing fundamentalist viewpoints in a politician isn’t as desirable as it is in the States (expected, de rigueur even for a Presidential address) but he still has back room advisors who like to take plays straight from the right wing of Republican party play book. The growing partisanship in Canadian politics is just one more symptom of these good old boys at work.
    Thanks for something substantive to chew on, Rob. And I hope you hear back in a positive way from the folks you spent time with this week…my fingers are crossed…or will be as soon as I step away from the keyboard…

    xxoo
    moe

    • Rob says:

      Thanks, Moe – glad you found it substantive. I can only hope that enough people wake up and notice the ‘hopemongering’ that’s passing for a CPC platform, with a resulting flood of indignant voters casting their ballots in sufficient number to at least keep Harper from gaining a majority.

      And thanks, especially, for the crossing of fingers on the job search front – will keep you posted.

  2. Wow. you are on top of this A-Z challenge.

    I love your site and as I browsed your blog I decided to award you the Creative Blog Award.
    Go to http://astorybookworld.blogspot.com/p/awards.html and pick up your award.
    ~Deirdra

Leave a Reply

