Unconventional Nexus

I had a “Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon” sort of moment tonight.

It started with K and I looking at the Canadian Podcast Buffet website, where we saw a couple of new posts: “We’ve been served” and “Cease and desist letter published“.

Now Mark Blevis and Bob Goyetche, the hosts of the Canadian Podcast Buffet podcast, are a couple of pretty decent guys and it would be hard to imagine them doing anything — intentionally, at least — to attract someone’s legal wrath.

So you could have scraped us off the floor, we were so shocked… then, we clicked through the link to Tod Maffin’s “cease and desist letter” that was given in the second post above.

And that’s when I started rolling on the floor laughing my… well, you get the picture, right? As soon as I saw that the “letter” was from the law firm of “Dewey Cheatem and Howe“, well, I knew that it was all a gag — just a little late for April Fool’s Day.

Oh, and the unconventional nexus? That’s what happened when I clicked on the comments for the first post above and discovered one had been left by a certain Sonia Brock.

And I said “Holy crap!”(or something vaguely like that… 😉 ) and continued on to say to K, “I wonder if that’s the same Sonia Brock that I know from Don’s Sibyl BBS and EMCC ‘New Years’ get-togethers (the explanation of which I will defer to ynoT, er, I mean Tony B.)?”

Sure enough, it’s her. And she’s podcasting. And she’s listed on the CanadaPodcasts.ca podcast directory, where K has her Purl Diving podcast listed too. Cue up the spooky theme music from The Twilight Zone

Now, I haven’t seen Sonia in quite some time — I haven’t attended any of the EMCC get-togethers for a while, due to a variety of circumstances. I wonder, though, if she might decide to attend Podcasters Across Borders in June, which K and I will be attending.

PAB 2007 Logo

Anyway, it was definitely an unconventional nexus.

BTW the Sibyl BBS is again operating (having been recently resurrected by Don, my old friend and classmate from our days at U of T in Engineering Science), although I won’t divulge the details of how to find it unless Don is interested in opening it up to new members… let’s just say that it’s the coal-fired, steam-powered version of Social Networking circa late last millennium.

2 Responses to Unconventional Nexus

  1. Don says:

    Sibyl may be “coal-fired, steam powered”, but it actually led me to Rob’s ‘blog [notice the appropriate use of the contraction] which I wouldn’t have found otherwise. A few other people have connected to Sibyl since it was reincarnated as an internet-facing application.

    If anyone reading this wants to see what *real* computing was/is like [ 🙂 ] feel free to give it a try. You need to fire up your favourite telnet client [yes, TELNET, not HTTP] and connect to vatic.com on port 51641. If you’re using Windows this URL usually works as well telnet://vatic.com:51641 . If you’re running UNIX/Linux you probably already know what to do.

  2. Rob says:

    Hi Don,

    Glad to see you drop by.

    And the “coal-fired, steam-powered” aspect of Sibyl is one of its great charms, much like the well-oiled running of an antique steam locomotive (which leads to another nexus: you worked for CP Rail for a long time); another of its charms being the quirky, eclectic nature of the accumulated wisdom of the old posts still in the system. At the rate Sibyl’s Pantheon of Oracles leisurely serve up each post, it would take a new visitor quite some time to go through them all.

    And you’re right to note the correct form ‘blog (i.e. a contraction of weblog, a “ships log” of web site “ports of call”), though I suspect there are so many young’uns around that didn’t experience the web’s infancy that the apostrophe-less version of blog will prevail.

    I like the “internet-facing” buzz-word, first time I’d run across it.

    I’ve seen “customer-facing” a lot in my job search; I’ve always thought it was a euphemism for “someone to get in between the customer and the business in order to avoid having to actually provide any real service to the customer”. You don’t need any skills just to be customer-facing (a face is probably the minimum requirement for the job, although even that’s probably being outsourced these days…), hence you can be paid less than someone who actually has some skills at customer service/relations.

    But that’s a rant for another day…

    Rob

Leave a Reply

